South Africa and its infinitely varied landscapes

South Africa is a country with a surface area of more than 1.2 million km2. It has a population of 49 million inhabitants. They speak eleven languages, including English and Zulu. The county sits between the Indian Ocean to the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The climate is Mediterranean near the Cape, subtropical at Durban and hot in the Karoo area. The country offers a wide biodiversity. As you visit, you will meet the Steppes, the Savannah, deserts, huge beaches with clear water, and mountains, but also large cities and small ancient Zulu villages. In the city of Cape Town, you will see both modern, luxurious quarters, and the very poor townships. A visit to the nature reserves is a must because of their size and the variety of wild animals they contain, among the most diverse anywhere on the African continent. All twenty-eight nature reserves offer excellent visitor facilities. You will see lions, cheetahs, rhinoceros, leopards, elephants and buffalo, as well as giraffes, crocodiles, hippopotamus all sorts of birds, in complete safety. Air France offers frequent flights to South Africa. A few weeks prior to your departure, to make sure that everything goes smoothly, don't forget to find out details of the entry requirements.

Visit South Africa's wild landscapes

South Africa offers remarkable landscapes such as the Drakensberg with its wild hills. From there, you can admire the Blyde River Canyon, one of the most beautiful in the country. The long Drakensberg mountain range stretches from Mozambique to the Cape province. Some of the peaks reach as high as 3 000 metres. In the south, you will be able to visit the Karoo desert and the Valley of Desolation. East of the Cape, enjoy the Wine Trail, stopping from time to time for a tasting session. The Cango caves are of interest as well for their frescos drawn by the Bushmen. On the Orange River, admire the Augrabie Falls, some 146 metres high. Don't miss the nearby Kimberley diamond mines.

Discover the capital cities of South Africa

South Africa has three official capital cities. They are Pretoria, Cape Town, and Johannesburg. Pretoria is known as Jacaranda City as it contains thousands of these trees, giving the city a purple haze when they are in bloom. Located in the Table Bay, Cape Town is the southernmost city on the African continent. Johannesburg is the richest city in the country, and plays a major part in South Africa's development.

Preparing your visit to South Africa